Expansion of eHealth Arrangements from 28 November 2011

By Krystina Szafraniec
6 December 2011

As of 28th November 2011 there have been changes to the health assessment requirements for Australian visas for certain countries. The changes are to implement 100% e-Health arrangements for these countries.

Applicants from e-Health countries will be required to submit their visa health checks electronically. As a result, applicants will need to lodge their visa applications before completing their medical examinations. However, exemptions may be granted and paper applications still accepted if applicants are lodging a 457, ENS or RSMS visa, or have received an exemption letter from the Department of Immigration and Citizenship and reply within three weeks of receipt.

Applications lodged through the online eHealth system will be processed much faster (within 48 hours) and will be more secure than paper applications.

Although these changes are now in place, people who are in Australia can still apply for their medical examination through Medibank Health Solutions until the changes are strictly enforced from the 1st January 2012.

The 100% e-Health countries are:

  • Bangladesh
  • India
  • Nepal
  • Taiwan
  • Brazil
  • Indonesia
  • Netherlands
  • Thailand
  • Bulgaria
  • Ireland
  • Philippines
  • United Kingdom
  • Colombia (Bogota region only)
  • Macau
  • Singapore
  • Vietnam
  • Hong Kong
  • Malaysia
  • South Korea

Feel free to contact us if you have any questions about the above information or if you need assistance with your visa application.

Stay up to date - Subscribe to Immigration News!