English Testing

For several visa categories, applicants must provide proof of their English language ability.

In many cases, you may be asked by the Department of Immigration to undertake the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) test. The IELTS has four components - speaking, reading, listening and writing. Further information on the IELTS can be obtained from the IELTS website

Proficient English

To establish proficient English, you must obtain a score of at least 7 out of 9 for all four components of the IELTS test, or alternatively a "B" pass in the Occupational English Test (OET). Note that even if you are a native English speaker, you must complete English language testing to get points for proficient English.

Competent English

You can establish a competent level of English by:
  • Obtaining a score of at least 6 out of 9 for all four components of the IELTS test
  • Passing the Occupational English Test conducted by the National Language and Literacy Institute of Australia.
  • Holding a passport from one of the following 5 countries:
  • Canada
  • New Zealand
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Ireland
Competent English is the threshold requirement which needs to be met for most general skilled applications.

Applying for migration to Australia can be complex, so we recommend that you contact us to check your likely eligibility for immigration to Australia before you proceed with an application.

Acacia recommends taking an IELTS preparation course such as the one below to ensure you score the highest marks: IELTS Online

Stay up to date - Subscribe to Immigration News!