Visa Processing Changes

By Claire Zee, Acacia Immigration Australia Pty Ltd, 26 June 2008

In order to improve the responsiveness of Australia's temporary skilled migration program, the Department of Immigration and Citizenship will change some of the locations for visa processing from 1 July 2008. The Department has also announced changes to visa and citizenship processing locations from 1 September 2008 - 31 December 2008, and from 2009. The following location changes have been announced (Please note that the Department will advise further on exact timing for the changes closer to the date):

Location Changes from: 1 July 2008
Visa caseload Location of processing
422, 457, 459 (Australian business sponsored applications only) Sydney (Australian Capital Territory (processed in the Sydney CBD office), New South Wales (processed in the Parramatta office), Queensland (processed in the Sydney CBD office)) Melbourne (Northern Territory, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria) Perth (Western Australia)
Occupational Trainees (nomination and onshore visa applications only) Adelaide
Citizenship (loss and resumption) Dandenong, Victoria
General Skilled Migration Adelaide and Brisbane (onshore electronically lodged applications only)
Onshore Parent (subclasses 804, 864 and 884) Perth
General Skilled Migration Second processing centre established in Brisbane
Location Changes from: 1 September 2008 - 31 December 2008
Visa caseload Location of processing
Second stage partner Australian Capital Territory and Regions Office and Melbourne
Working Holiday Makers Second processing centre in Cairns (Working Holiday Maker 2 applications)
eVisitor Hobart
Superyachts Brisbane
Ministerial intervention (s417 detention cases) Sydney and Melbourne
Location Changes from: 2009
Visa caseload Location of processing
Sponsored family visitors Overseas network
Small onshore permanent visa caseloads (for example Child, Other Family) Australian Capital Territory and Regions Office
Onshore business skills Adelaide
Small onshore temporary caseloads Australian Capital Territory and Regions Office
FOI Sydney and Melbourne
Employer sponsored (permanent ENS/RSMS) Sydney, Melbourne, and Perth(centres of excellence)

(Source: Department of Immigration and Citizenship) For further information, please Contact Us

Stay up to date - Subscribe to Immigration News!