Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) Subclass 187 Visas

Please note that this visa is only available to certain transitional applicants.

The Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme or RSMS visa is a permanent employer sponsored visa which requires a job offer in a Regional Area of Australia.

RSMS Application Stages

There are two stages to an RSMS (Temporary Residence Transitional) application:
  1. Nomination: review of the business and position by the Department of Immigration
  2. Visa application: applicant is aged under 45 (unless exemptions or grandfathering provisions apply) and has worked with the employer on a 457/482 visa for at least 2 or 3 years (depending on grandfathering provisions).

RSMS Regional Areas

In order to be granted an RSMS visa, the employee must be offered a position in a regional area. The regional areas are specified by postcode by the Department of Immigration.

The following are considered Regional areas for the purposes of RSMS sponsorship:

  • The whole of South Australia
  • The whole of Tasmania
  • The whole of ACT
  • The whole of Northern Territory
  • The whole of Western Australia
  • New South Wales (NSW) - all areas excluding Sydney
  • Victoria - all areas excluding Melbourne
  • Queensland - all areas excluding Brisbane

Stay up to date - Subscribe to Immigration News!